Tourist Info

Another Free Day Out!

Free Day Out in Lanzarote!

Free Day Out  read more »

Municipalities of Lanzarote

Lanzarote is divided into seven municipalities. For a brief description of each, read on:


Arrecife covers an area of around 28 square kilometers and 30,000 people (more than a third of the island's population) live in the city.

The port did not establish itself until the fifteenth century when the island began to trade with Spain and other nations. The harbour area was the best on Lanzarote, and Arrecife quickly became the gateway to Teguise, which was then the capital. Less salubrious inhabitants of Arrecife at this time included slave traders and pirates, preying on the busy shipping routes. This proved a problem for local inhabitants who left the island in droves until they were stopped by a Royal Decree preventing emigration!  read more »


Syndicate content